Cold Spring Brewery
In early 2014, the HCSV Foundation Board of Trustees voted unanimously to pursue the development of a small brewery on the Village grounds with the name Cold Spring Brewery. To this end, and in keeping with the mission of the Historic Cold Spring Village, an 1804 three bay English-style Cape May County barn from Upper Township was purchased. Stillwell and Elizabeth Corson, a familiar name in the County, built the classic building. Permission to restore and reconstruct the barn, board by board, and place it on Village property was received from both the Lower Township and County of Cape May Zoning Boards along with approvals to utilize the barn in connection with the proposed brewery. Although the barn/brewery is located outside the Village fencing, it remains part and parcel of the 30 acres that are located between Seashore Road and Route 9 in Cold Spring, containing 27 restored historic structures. Funding for the project was secured through HCSV Foundation’s fundraising events, donations, memberships, retail sales, corporate sponsorship for programs and gate revenue. Its purpose is to stabilize the museum for future generations to enjoy. The Village’s mission is historic preservation, history education and heritage tourism.
The brewery is located at 733 Seashore Road, Cold Spring, Cape May.
For additional information, please contact the Village office at 609-898-2300, ext. 10 or email to email@example.com.
Built: 1722/1780. Original Building Name: Hathorn House. Original Location: Tuckahoe Road, Upper Township.
The Country Store offers visitors a unique assortment of hand-crafted artisan wares and heritage goods- from hand-wrought ironware and hand spun wool to craft kits, jams, candy, books and more. The Country Store is open during the summer season with special fall and winter hours. To contact the Country Store directly, please call (609) 898-2300, ext. 16 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org. All proceeds from the Village Country Store directly support the mission of Historic Cold Spring Village, a non-profit living history museum.
The Hathorn House, which is now home to the Country Store, is comprised of two heavy timber frame sections. The second oldest building in the Village, its original section was constructed in 1722. The first section, which is now where the front entrance of the Store is located, was built about 1722; it features joists, girts and plates with lamb’s tongue stops, two exposed gunstock corner posts, and two chased and flared corner posts. About 1780-1790, an addition was placed against the north wall (the back section of the building). The interior second floor was removed when the building was brought to the Village, exposing the interior framework and large chimney, which retains its original cooking crane. The mid-1800s shelving and store fixtures were purchased at the auction of a Thomas Fleming’s 19th century country store in Middletown, Massachusetts.
Cold Spring Grange Restaurant
Please call 609-884-0114 or visit www.coldspringgrange.net for operating hours & information about hosting your special event at the Grange.
Built: 1912. Original Building Name: Cold Spring Grange #132. Located on its original site.
This two-story building was built in 1912 to serve was the meeting hall for the Cold Spring Grange #132, which functioned as a political/civic, business, educational, and social organization for the farmers and residents of Cold Spring and its surrounding rural area until about 1970. Listed on the State and National Registers of Historic Places, the Grange Hall is the only building in Historic Cold Spring Village which stands on its original site.
Built: c. 1850. Original Building Name: Ezra-Norton House. Original Location: Dias Creek, Middle Township, NJ. The bakery is open Tuesday-Sunday from 10am-4:30pm. Smell the aromas and taste the treats of a bygone era at the Village Bakery, cool off with a refreshing beverage and enjoy casual lunch items. Currently, The Bakery is run by Madison’s Bakery of Cape May and Rio Grande.
This common south Jersey house was built by Ezra Norton, a farmer who lived in the Dias Creek area of Middle Township. It was later owned by his son, Howard, who ran a grocery business out of the lean-to. The house is notable for its unusual winder stair, which begins in the lean-to rather than in the parlor, as was more common in Cape May County.
Ice Cream Parlor
Built: c. 1850. Original Building Name: Ewing-Douglass House. Original Location: Town Bank Road, Lower Township.
The Ice Cream Parlor serves as a cool respite during a Village visit. Choose from a variety of ice cream flavors, sodas and other treats. Hours: 11a-4p Tuesday through Saturday, 12:30-4p Sunday (When the Village is open).
With its Greek Revival style gable front and its Victorian style point-arched window in the gable end, this charming house is a vernacular interpretation of the two styles which were popular in the mid-19th century. It was most likely built by David Ewing, a farmer who owned the land on which it originally stood from 1838 until 1869. Nathaniel Douglass, a farmer who bought the tract in 1869, ran a country store in a side addition that has since been removed. The pointed -arch window in the gable end is a feature commonly found in southern New Jersey’s Victorian houses, but is rarely seen elsewhere in the state.