Village Country Store
Built: 1722/1780. Original Building Name: Hathorn House. Original Location: Tuckahoe Road, Upper Township.
Acquired by HCSV: 1977
The Country Store offers visitors a unique assortment of hand-crafted artisan wares and heritage goods- from hand-wrought ironware and handspun wool to craft kits, jams, candy, books and more. The Country Store is open during the summer season with special fall and winter hours. To contact the Country Store directly, please call (609) 898-2300, ext. 16 or e-mail email@example.com. All proceeds from the Village Country Store directly support the mission of Historic Cold Spring Village, a non-profit living history museum.
The Hathorn House, which is now home to the Country Store, is comprised of two heavy timber frame sections. The second oldest building in the Village, its original section was constructed in 1722. The first section, which is now where the front entrance of the Store is located, was built about 1722; it features joists, girts, and plates with lamb’s tongue stops, two exposed gunstock corner posts, and two chased and flared corner posts. About 1780-1790, an addition was placed against the north wall (the back section of the building). The interior second floor was removed when the building was brought to the Village, exposing the interior framework and large chimney, which retains its original cooking crane. The mid-1800s shelving and store fixtures were purchased at the auction of a Thomas Fleming’s 19th-century country store in Middletown, Massachusetts.